Master P's Impactful Debut: Get Away Clean - A Milestone in Hip Hop History

Master P's Impactful Debut: Get Away Clean - A Milestone in Hip Hop History


In the annals of hip hop history, few albums have left an indelible mark as profound as Master P's debut masterpiece, "Get Away Clean." Released on February 12, 1991, this iconic album paved the way for a new era in hip hop, and its influence continues to resonate in the genre today. In this comprehensive article, we delve deep into the significance of "Get Away Clean," dissecting its impact on hip hop culture, the artist's journey, and the lasting legacy it has left behind.

The Birth of a Legend: Master P's Ascent

Master P, born Percy Robert Miller, emerged from the vibrant New Orleans hip hop scene in the late '80s and early '90s. His passion for music and entrepreneurial spirit led him to create No Limit Records, a label that would become synonymous with success and innovation. Before "Get Away Clean," Master P had already made a name for himself with several underground releases. However, it was this debut album that catapulted him into the spotlight.

Exploring the Sound of "Get Away Clean"

Master P's unique style and sound were unlike anything the hip hop world had heard before. The album was a sonic fusion of gritty beats, clever lyrics, and an unmistakable Southern flair. Tracks like "I'm Going Big Time" and "No More Tears" showcased Master P's lyrical prowess and storytelling abilities. The production quality was top-notch, setting a new standard for hip hop albums in the early '90s.

Breaking Barriers: "Get Away Clean" and Its Impact

One cannot discuss the impact of "Get Away Clean" without acknowledging the barriers it shattered. At a time when West Coast and East Coast hip hop dominated the mainstream, Master P's Southern roots and distinctive sound challenged the status quo. He opened doors for Southern artists, paving the way for the emergence of the Southern hip hop scene that would flourish in the years to come.

Panic 39 Mens Tees Collection (Click Here)

Cultural Significance and Lyrical Depth

Beyond its musical achievements, "Get Away Clean" tackled important social and cultural issues. Tracks like "Life in the Fast Lane" and "Questions" delved into the struggles of urban life, offering a raw and unfiltered perspective. Master P's lyrics were not only catchy but also thought-provoking, resonating with a diverse audience.

A Blueprint for Independence: No Limit Records

The success of "Get Away Clean" was not just about the music; it was a testament to Master P's business acumen. He was a pioneer in the independent music industry, handling every aspect of his career, from production to distribution. No Limit Records became a blueprint for aspiring artists looking to maintain creative control and financial independence.

Legacy and Lasting Influence

More than three decades after its release, "Get Away Clean" continues to inspire artists and fans alike. Its influence can be heard in the work of contemporary hip hop stars who have embraced Master P's DIY ethos and commitment to authenticity. The album remains a touchstone for those seeking to push the boundaries of the genre.


Master P's debut album, "Get Away Clean," is more than just a musical milestone; it's a cultural touchstone that changed the landscape of hip hop forever. Its impact on the genre, its cultural significance, and its lasting influence on artists and fans make it a true masterpiece. As we reflect on this iconic release on its anniversary, we are reminded of the power of innovation, independence, and the unwavering commitment of artists like Master P to leave an indelible mark on the world of hip hop.

Track List:

1. "Get Away Clean" 5:36
2. "Saxophone" (featuring Big O & Sonya C) 0:57
3. "Rollin' the Dice" 4:44
4. "Crooked Ass Law" (featuring The Real Untouchables) 3:47
5. "Low, Down & Dirty" (featuring The Real Untouchables) 2:58
6. "Safe Sex" 4:58
7. "Dana You Can Bang Her" 0:47
8. "I'm in the House" 4:51
9. "Richtown" (featuring The Real Untouchables) 3:34
10. "What's Up with That" (featuring Silk the Shocker) 3:30
11. "Bitches & Money" (featuring The Real Untouchables) 2:15
12. "You Only Live Once" 3:44
13. "Dope Shots" 3:41
14. "Jack of the Jackers" (Hidden Bonus Track) 6:14


  1. Master P - Biography
  2. No Limit Records - The Rise and Fall
  3. Southern Hip Hop's Evolution
  4. Master P's Impact on the Independent Music Industry
  5.  Allmusic review